WVC Food Animal Incentive Award winners

 Resize text         Printer-friendly version of this article Printer-friendly version of this article

Five Food Animal Incentive Awards (FAIA) are given annually by the Western Veterinary Conference to veterinarians engaged in a university or private practice internship or residency (first year) in food animal medicine, surgery, production medicine, theriogenology, or epidemiology. The award includes expense-paid travel to attend the Western Veterinary Conference in Las Vegas and a stipend of $1,000.

The Food Animal Incentive Awards are designed to encourage new graduates to enter food animal practice or other careers directly related to food animal practice, such as food animal education and/or research; help develop their leadership skills and aid their progress as future leaders in food animal practice and related activities; and showcase the educational enrichment opportunities offered by the Western Veterinary Conference.

The 2010 Food Animal Incentive Awards are dedicated to Jeff Tyler, DVM, PhD, Dipl. ACVIM, a food animal instructor at the University of Missouri College of Veterinary Medicine and WVC board member/program coordinator, who passed away May 17, 2009. Tyler’s wife, Carolyn Henry, DVM, was on hand at the 2010 awards ceremony to congratulate the winners.

The 2010 Dr. Jeff Tyler Food Animal Incentive Awards were given to:

  • Marc Caldwell, DVM (food animal internal medicine resident at Auburn).
  • Kathryn Cass, DVM (food animal medicine and surgery internship, Oklahoma State University).
  • Craig Easley, DVM (theriogenology resident, Mississippi State University)
  • Brandon McBride, DVM (Agricultural Practices Internship program, Kansas State University).
  • Isaiah Smith, DVM (candidate, Masters of Food Animal Health and Production, University of Georgia).

An FAIA recipient must be a graduate of an AVMA-accredited college or school of veterinary medicine and engaged in a food animal medicine, surgery, production medicine, theriogenology, or epidemiology internship or in the first year of an AAVC-recognized residency, either at a university or in private practice.

The 2011 Food Animal Incentive Award applications are due Oct. 1. For more information, visit www.wvc.org or contact Sandi Schroder at sandi@wvc.org

2010 WVC FAIA winners: Dr. Mark Caldwell, Dr. Kathryn Cass, Dr. Craig Easley, Dr. Isaiah Smith and Dr. Brandon McBride.

Comments (0) Leave a comment 

e-Mail (required)


characters left

Farmall® 100A Series

From field to feedlot, you need a tractor that can multi-task as well as you do. Case IH Farmall™ 100A ... Read More

View all Products in this segment

View All Buyers Guides

Feedback Form
Leads to Insight