Fuchs Kerfeld Dairy, Albany, Minn., took Grand Champion honors and was awarded a $3,000 check for its haylage entry in the World Forage Analysis Superbowl. The cash award, presented to producers Doug and Sandy Kerfeld by NutriSave Forage Management System, was one of many recognizing top-quality forage entries in the annual contest.

More than $22,000 in cash prizes were awarded to top-finishing producers. Producers submitted 321 entries in seven forage categories, representing 17 states. The winners were announced Oct. 2 at the World Forage Analysis Superbowl Awards Luncheon, sponsored by Mycogen Seeds, at World Dairy Expo.

The Grand Champion First-Time Entrant cash award of $1,500 went to Ed Byers Dairy, Enon Valley, PA. The prize money came from Kuhn North America. Champions of the seven forage categories, and their sponsors, include:

Division Sponsor
Dairy Hay  S Y Dairy Guthrie, Ky. W-L Research
Dairy Haylage Gregg Troyer  Dalton, Ohio Ag-Bag
Dairy Corn Silage
    Standard Doody Farm Tully, N.Y. Blue River Hybrids
     BMR Holmes Acres  New Woodstock, N.Y. Mycogen Seeds
Grass Hay  Rosedale Genetics Oxford, Wis. Barenbrug USA
Commercial Hay Hardrock Farms Wheatland, Wyo. Bridon Cordage
Commercial Baleage Olson Farms Lena, Wis. Agri-King
Quality Counts Awards  
Hay/Haylage Lazy 2K Livestock Wheatland, Wyo. Croplan Genetics
Corn Silage TomBeth Farms Gays Mills, Wis. Croplan Genetics

Each category’s top finisher received $1,500. Second-place winners received $500; third-place, $250; and fourth-place winners, $100 each. Quality Counts Awards reward quality forage production; however, the criteria for selection are unknown to contestants at the time of entry. This year’s Hay/Haylage and Corn Silage winners were selected based on total tract digestibility. Croplan Genetics presented each winner with $1,000. Additional support was provided by the National Hay Association and NEXGROW alfalfa, as Silver Sponsors.

Growers from across the U.S. and Canada were invited to send their best samples in either dairy or commercial divisions. Dairy samples are judged on lab analysis (60%), visual judging (30%), and calculated milk per ton (10%). Commercial entries are judged on lab analysis (70%) and visual judging (30%). Visual judging consists of analyzing the color, texture, maturity and leafiness, depending on the category. Dairyland Laboratories, located in DePere, WI, tested the samples.

Organizing partners include DairyBusiness Communications; Dairyland Laboratories, Inc.; Hay & Forage Grower; U.S. Dairy Forage Research Center; University of Wisconsin-Madison; and World Dairy Expo.

The top five placings from each category are:

Grand Champion Dairy Hay - Sponsored by W-L Research
1st Place – S Y Dairy, Guthrie, Kentucky
2nd Place – Srnka Farms LLC, Algoma, Wisconsin
3rd Place – Dee’s Dairy Inc., Morgan, Utah
4th Place – Karl & Barb Wogsland, Scandinavia, Wisconsin
5th Place – Rosedale Genetics Ltd., Oxford, Wisconsin

Grand Champion Dairy Haylage - Sponsored by Ag-Bag
1st Place – Gregg Troyer, Dalton, Ohio
2nd Place – Ever-Green-View, Waldo, Wisconsin
3rd Place – Devin Haywood, Hastings, Michigan
4th Place – Baker’s Golden Dairy, New Waterford, Ohio
5th Place – Heatherstone Enterprises, Baraboo, Wisconsin

Grand Champion Standard Corn Silage - Sponsored by Blue River Hybrids
1st Place – Doody Farm, Tully, New York
2nd Place – Maynard Lehman, La Grange, Indiana
3rd Place – Vander Made Dairy, Sherwood, Ohio
4th Place – Vista Grande Farms LLC, Fleetwood, Pennsylvania
5th Place – Emmons Farms, Fayette, Ohio

Grand Champion BMR Corn Silage - Mycogen Seeds
1st Place – Holmes Acres, New Woodstock, New York
2nd Place – White Eagle Farms LLC, Hamilton, New York
3rd Place – Indianhead Holsteins Ltd, Barron, Wisconsin
4th Place – Tayl-Wind Farm, Cassville, New York
5th Place – Pankow Farm, Castile, New York

Grand Champion Commercial Hay - Sponsored by Bridon Cordage
1st Place – Hardrock Farms, Wheatland, Wyoming
2nd Place – Lazy 2K Livestock, Wheatland, Wyoming
3rd Place – Harlan Fegler, Arapahoe, Wyoming
4th Place – Berney Ranch Inc., Okanogan, Washington
5th Place – Lee Erickson, Mountain Lake, Minnesota

Grand Champion Baleage - Sponsored by Agri-King
1st Place – Olson Farms, Lena, Wisconsin
2nd Place – Hardrock Farms, Wheatland, Wyoming
3rd Place – Beer’s Robo Holsteins LLC, Mascoutah, Illinois
4th Place – Leroy Yoder, Topeka, Indiana
5th Place – Nick Wallace, Keystone, Iowa

Grand Champion Grass Hay - Sponsored by Barenbrug USA
1st Place – Rosedale Genetics Ltd., Oxford, Wisconsin
2nd Place – Gerry Danko, Powell, Wyoming
3rd Place – Anderson Livestock, Pine Bluffs, Wyoming
4th Place – Flat Rock Seed, Flat Rock, Indiana
5th Place – Gryphon Ranch, Rochester, Washington