Compensation available for forage losses

 Resize text         Printer-friendly version of this article Printer-friendly version of this article

Livestock producers in 21 mostly western and central Kansas counties could be eligible for compensation through the USDA Livestock Forage Disaster Program (LFP). The program provides payments to producers who have suffered grazing losses due to qualifying drought or fire. Eligible species include beef and dairy cattle, horses, buffalo, deer, elk, emus, goats, llamas, poultry, reindeer, sheep and swine.

Kansas counties meeting the LFP trigger for drought are Barber, Barton, Clark, Comanche, Edwards, Ford, Hamilton, Harper, Harvey, Kingman, Kiowa, McPherson, Morton, Pawnee, Pratt, Reno, Rice, Sedgwick, Stafford, Stanton and Stevens. Additional counties could become eligible depending on the U.S. Drought Monitor rating.

An LFP applicant must have purchased insurance coverage through the Non-insured Crop Disaster Assistance Program or the Pasture, Rangeland and Forage Insurance Rainfall Index for Grazing program offered through USDA’s Risk Management Agency. For more information, county eligibility questions or to apply for LFP, contact your local Farm Service Agency office.

 For more information visit

Comments (0) Leave a comment 

e-Mail (required)


characters left

Ag-Bag MX1012 Commercial Silage Bagger

"The Ag-Bag MX1012 Commercial Silage Bagger is an ideal engine driven mid-size bagger, designed to serve the 150 to 750 ... Read More

View all Products in this segment

View All Buyers Guides

Feedback Form
Leads to Insight