National Dairy Board appointees named

 Resize text         Printer-friendly version of this article Printer-friendly version of this article

Twelve dairy members have been appointed to the National Dairy Promotion and Research Board by USDA Secretary Tom Vilsack. Terms will begin immediately and end on Oct. 31, 2014.

According to DairyBusiness News, newly appointment members include:

  • Kima Simonson, Washington (Region 1)
  • Lynda Foster, Kansas (Region 4)
  • John Howerton, Arkansas (Region 4)
  • Amber Horn-Leiterman, Wisconsin (Region 6)
  • Larry Shover, Iowa (Region 7)
  • Julie Veldhuis Lund, Idaho (Region 8)
  • Urban Mescher, Ohio (Region 9)
  • Celeste Deaderick Blackburn, Tennessee (Region 10)
  • Harold Howrigan, Jr., Vermont (Region 12)

Three members of the dairy board were reappointed to serve second terms:

  • Ronald Shelton, Colorado (Region 3)
  • Kenton Holle, North Dakota (Region 5)
  • Sharon Laubscher, Wisconsin (Region 6)

The 38-member Dairy Board, established under the Dairy Production Stabilization Act of 1983, develops and administers a coordinated program of promotion, research, and nutrition education. The board is also authorized to design programs to strengthen the dairy industry’s position in domestic and foreign markets. It is financed by a mandatory, 15¢/cwt. assessment on all milk marketed commercially and a 7.5¢/cwt. assessment of milk and dairy products imported into the United States.

Comments (0) Leave a comment 

e-Mail (required)


characters left

Biotal Forage Inoculants

"Biotal offers a range of forage inoculants proven to help win the battle to preserve feed quality and value. Call ... Read More

View all Products in this segment

View All Buyers Guides

Feedback Form
Leads to Insight