North Dakota State's 2012 Dairy Cow College dates set

 Resize text         Printer-friendly version of this article Printer-friendly version of this article

Sustainability, global issues and controlling feed costs are among the topics for the 2012 Dairy Cow College sessions.

Dairy Cow College is a joint educational effort of the North Dakota State University Extension Service and Midwest Dairy Association (MDA) in cooperation with the NDSU Animal Sciences Department and Barnes, Dunn, Emmons, McHenry, McIntosh, Morton, Oliver, Stark/Billings, Stutsman and Ward County Extension offices.

The dates and locations for this year’s sessions are:

  • Jan. 30: KEM Electric Cooperative, Linton
  • Jan. 31: Elks Lodge, Dickinson
  • Feb. 1: Youth Building, Morton County Fairgrounds, New Salem
  • Feb. 2: Sandhills Dairy, Towner
  • Feb. 3: Gladstone Inn and Suites, Jamestown

All of the sessions will begin with registration and coffee at 10:30 a.m. local time and run from 11 a.m. to 3:30 p.m.

Other major topics for this year’s Dairy Cow College are the cow of the future, the role of genomics, food safety and social issues, automated milking systems, the dairy industry’s carbon footprint, crisis management and managing labor on a dairy operation.

NDSU Extension dairy specialist J.W. Schroeder will be the presenter at this year’s sessions.

Other activities will include American Dairy Association and MDA district meetings, presentations on current dairy topics and a question-and-answer session.

For more information about Dairy Cow College, contact Schroeder at (701) 231-7663 or jw.schroeder@ndsu.edu or the following Extension agents:

Linton Connie Job, (701) 254-4811, connie.job@ndsu.edu, or Crystal Schaunaman, (701) 288-3465, crystal.schaunaman@ndsu.edu
Dickinson Kurt Froelich, (701) 456-7665, kurt.froelich@ndsu.edu, or Becky Buchmann, (701) 764-5593, becky.buchmann@ndsu.edu
New Salem Jackie Buckley, (701) 667-3340, jackie.buckley@ndsu.edu, or Rick Schmidt, (701) 794-8748, rick.schmidt@ndsu.edu
Towner Raquel Dugan-Dibble, (701) 537-5405, r.dugan-dibble@ndsu.edu, or Paige Brummund, (701) 857-6444, paige.f.brummund@ndsu.edu
Jamestown Lance Brower, (701) 252-9030, lance.brower@ndsu.edu, or Randy Grueneich, (701) 845-8528, randy.grueneich@ndsu.edu


Comments (0) Leave a comment 

Name
e-Mail (required)
Location

Comment:

characters left


8560 4WD Shuttle

Built for Performance. Modern looking 83 hp workhorse with rugged, cast-iron chassis that provides more weight – resulting in more ... Read More

View all Products in this segment

View All Buyers Guides

)
Feedback Form
Leads to Insight