USDA declares 44 Illinois counties disaster areas

 Resize text         Printer-friendly version of this article Printer-friendly version of this article

Summer's drought and excessive heat have led the U.S. Department of Agriculture to declare 44 Illinois counties natural disaster areas.


Farmers and ranchers in another 33 counties also qualify for assistance because they are contiguous to the affected areas.


The declaration means farmers and ranchers can qualify for low-interest emergency loans to help cover part of their actual losses. Farmers in eligible counties have eight months from Oct. 31 to apply.


Other assistance programs also are available.


The 44 counties are: Adams, Douglas, Hamilton, Lawrence, Richland, Brown, Edgar, Hancock, Macon, Rock Island, Champaign, Edwards, Hardin, Marion, Saline, Christian, Effingham, Henry, Massac, Shelby, Clark, Fayette, Iroquois, McDonough, Vermilion, Clay, Ford, Jasper, McLean, Wabash, Clinton, Franklin, Jefferson, Morgan, Wayne, Crawford, Fulton, Johnson, Piatt, Williamson, Cumberland, Gallatin, Knox and Pope.


Copyright 2011 The Associated Press.

Comments (0) Leave a comment 

e-Mail (required)


characters left

644K Hybrid Wheel Loader

The 229 hp 644K Hybrid Wheel Loader from John Deere utilizes two sources of energy: diesel and electric. The machine’s ... Read More

View all Products in this segment

View All Buyers Guides

Feedback Form
Leads to Insight