World Dairy Expo: Modesto Jr. College wins Post-Secondary Contest

 Resize text         Printer-friendly version of this article Printer-friendly version of this article

Modesto Jr. College took home top honors in the International Post-Secondary Dairy Cattle Judging Contest held during World Dairy Expo in Madison, Wisc.  Rocco Cunningham led the team, placing first overall and high individual in oral reasons.  Teammates Emilie Strand, Monica Soares and Natalie Sanders all placed in the top 15.  Morrisville State College and SUNY-Cobleskill Team 1 placed second and third, respectively.  Tyler Clark of Morrisville State College placed second overall, followed by Madison Fisher of UW-Madison Farm and Industry Short Course. 

Twelve Post-Secondary teams competed in the contest which included two portions: a conventional judging contest with evaluation and individual reasons, and a practical segment.  The practical contest is a unique contest that includes essential on-farm skills with linear scoring, registered heifer evaluations and commercial heifer evaluations.  Team and individual results for both portions are as follows:

Overall Top 10 Teams
1. Modesto Jr. College, 2,175
Team members: Rocco Cunningham, Emilie Strand, Monica Soares, Natalie Sanders

2. Morrisville State College, 2,131
Team members: Tyler Clark, Mike Laspada, Patrick Sweatman

3. SUNY-Cobleskill Team 1, 2,125
Team members: Steve Quanz, Jake Pamkowski, Eric Worden, Ben Colopy

4. Kaskaskia College Team 1, 2,065
Team members: Miranda Kollmann, Tyler Carter, Clinton Michael, Matt Rusteberg

5. UW-Madison FISC, 2,057
Team members: Madison Fisher, Brett Hildebrandt, Mike Schoessow

6. NE Iowa Community College, 2,054
Team members: Tyler Egeland, Pete Shell, Aaron Lien, Alana Heins

7. Michigan State Ag Tech, 2,007
Team members:  Deidre Bowen, Jade Cox, Ryan Silvernail, Shawn Baker

8. SUNY-Cobleskill Team 2, 2,005
Team members:  Jesse Phillips, Kristie Laverdiere, Alissa Rile

9. Fox Valley Tech College Team 1, 1,878
Team members: Caitlyn Cull, Justin Schwahn, Adam Mccabe, Jared Rhode

9. Lakeshore Tech College Team 1, 1,878
Team members: Claire Scholten, Kelly Donohue, Jessica Bucheger

10.  Fox Valley Tech College Team 2 1,831
Team members: Ryan Schlosser, Emily Gildernick, Lindsey Towery

11.  Lakeshore Tech College Team 2, 1,762
Team members: Alyssa Elsila, Kate Fechter, Cassandra Holder

12.  Kaskaskia College Team 2, 617
Team member: Jarrod Guckian

Click here to find more winners....

Source: World Dairy Expo

Comments (0) Leave a comment 

e-Mail (required)


characters left


When moving hay to feed dairy cows, farmers are seeking a versatile tractor. KITOI’s new Tier 4 RX series tractors ... Read More

View all Products in this segment

View All Buyers Guides

Feedback Form
Leads to Insight