Maryland team wins National 4-H Dairy Judging Contest

 Resize text         Printer-friendly version of this article Printer-friendly version of this article

Maryland reigned supreme for the second year in a row at the National 4-H Dairy Cattle Judging Contest at World Dairy Expo in Madison, Wisc. Three Maryland team members placed in the top ten—Kaitlyn Corbett, Jessica Sentelle, and Hannah Hood placing fourth, fifth, and seventh respectively—to lead the team to the top spot. Maryland also won High Team in Reasons and Bethany Dado of Wisconsin captured High Individual Overall honors. Rounding out the top five teams overall where; Michigan, second; Virginia, third; Minnesota, fourth; and Illinois, fifth.

High placing teams and individuals are:
1. Maryland; 2075; coached by Semler and Finucane
Team members included Kaitlyn Corbett, Jessica Sentelle, Hannah Hood, and Jason Zimmerman
2. Michigan; 2038; coached by Joe Domecq
Team members included JW Hart, Sarah Michalek, Levi Westendorp, and Matthew Mann
3. Virginia; 2036; coached by Nuckols and Skeen
Team members included David Hardesty Jr., Hayley Potts, Hannah Sayre, and Katie Waldron
4. Minnesota; 2026; coached by Brogan, Kieffer, Wirt, and Laska
Team members included Aaron Thesing, Andrew Hornberg, Nicholas Reps, and Peter Schell
5. Illinois; 2012; coached by David Fischer
Team members included Tyler Carter, Miranda Kollman, Haley Lyons, and Kaleb Pruemer
6. Pennsylvania; 2011; coached by Chad Dechow
Team members included Nathan Baumgardner, Thomas Johnson, Lauren Nell, and Derek Wasson
7. Florida; 2009; coached by Holcomb, Clements, and Holcomb
Team members included Fallon Curren, Holly Whetsell, and Mariah Shelton
8. Wisconsin; 2007; coached by Owens, Haase, Klugow, and Melin
Team members included Bethany Dado, Brett Getschel, Kristin Solum, and Ethan Dado
9. Washington; 1985; coached by Magnochi and Ryks
Team members included Abby Lohman, Aaron Furrer, Emily Beebe, and Andrea Smaciarz
10. Georgia; 1968; coached by Pam Brinton
Team members included Luc Boulet, Emilee Brinton, Tori Butcher, and Oasis Davis

Overall Top 10 Individuals:
1. Bethany Dado, 704, Wisconsin
2. Aaron Thesing, 698, Minnesota
3. David Hardesty Jr., 695, Virginia
4. Kaitlyn Corbett, 694, Maryland
5. Jessica Sentelle, 692, Maryland
6. Matthew Mann, 690, Michigan
7. Hannah Hood, 689, Maryland
8. Hannah Sayre, 688, Virginia
9. Fallon Curren, 686, Florida
10. Derek Wasson, 685, Pennslyvannia

Top 10 Teams Reasons:
1. Maryland, 674, coached by Semler and Finucane
2. Michigan, 670, coached by Joe Domecq
3. Wisconsin, 657, coached by Owens, Hasse, Klugow, and Melin
4. Virginia, 648, coached by Nuckols and Skeen
5. Pennsylvania, 646, coached by Chad Dechow
6. Florida, 640, coached by Holcomb, Clements, and Holcomb
7. New York, 634, coached by Doug Waterman
8. Washington, 627, coached by Magnochi and Ryks
9. Minnesota, 624, coached by Brogan, Kieffer, Wirt, and Laska
10. Indiana, 620, coached by Todd Riggs

Top 10 Individual Reasons:
1. Derek Wasson, 231, Pennslyvania
2. Jessica Sentelle, 229, Maryland
3. Bethany Dado, 227, Wisconsin
4. Kaitlyn Corbett, 227, Maryland
5. JW Hart, 225, Michigan
6. Jason Zimmerman, 224, Maryland
7. Matthew Mann, 223, Michigan
8. Lauren Nell, 223, Pennsylvania
9. Jacob Pamkowski, 223, New York
10. Aaron Thesing, 222, Minnesota

Generous support from sponsors makes the 89th National Dairy Cattle Judging Contest possible. In 2010, sponsors included: ABS Global, Accelerated Genetics, Advanced Biological Marketing, American Guernsey Association, American Jersey Cattle Association, American Livestock Insurance, Ayrshire Breeders Association, CRV USA, Hoard's Dairyman, Holstein Association USA, International Protein Sires, Judy Majeskie, Kuhn North America, Lakeshore Federated, Land O'Lakes, Inc., Maryland Brown Swiss Association, Merrick Animal Nutrition, Nasco, National Brown Swiss Cattle Breeders Association, National Dairy Shrine, NuPulse, Inc., Professional Dairy Producers of Wisconsin, Select Sires, Inc., Sexing Technologies, The Hartford Insurance, US Feeds, and University of Wisconsin-Dairy Science Dr. David P. Dickson Judging Fund.

Source: World Dairy Expo


Comments (0) Leave a comment 

e-Mail (required)


characters left

5E Series

Introduced in 2013, the new 85 and 100 hp John Deere 5085E and 5100E feature 4-cylinder Interim Tier 4 emissions-compliant ... Read More

View all Products in this segment

View All Buyers Guides

Feedback Form
Leads to Insight