At the 2007 Annual Meeting of Dairy Farmers of America, Inc. (DFA) held last week in Kansas City, Missouri, 20 members were reelected to the cooperative’s 51-person Board of Directors.  This year, four are new to DFA’s board. 

The four newly seated board directors include: David Crowl, Street, Md.; Glen Easter, Laurens, S.C.; Larry Hancock, Muleshoe, Texas; and Ellis Roberts, Preston, Idaho.

Every year, members at the local level elect dairy farmers to represent them in DFA’s leadership and governance structure. DFA’s Board represents the interests of the member-owners, which are located within DFA’s seven geographic marketing areas. Board members provide direction, set policies, establish financial structure, approve capital budgets, and establish duties and responsibilities for DFA’s governance structure.

DFA’s directors are elected to serve two-year terms, which are staggered so that only a portion of the board is up for election annually. Farmer-members, who were re-elected to DFA’s board at the 2007 Delegate Meeting (plus the four mentioned above), are:

  • Central Area — Steve Matthees, Goodhue, Minn.; Doug Nuttelman, Stromsburg, Neb.; Larry Shover, Delhi, Iowa; and Rob Wonderlich of Ollie, Iowa.
  • Mideast Area — Davis Denman, Cortland, Ohio; Don Gurtner, Fremont, Ind.; Urban Mescher, Maria Stein, Ohio; and Terry Rowlett, Campbellsburg, Ky.
  • Mountain Area — Tom Camerlo, Florence, Colo.; and Ellis Roberts of Preston, Idaho.
  • Northeast Area — Lewis Gardner, Galeton, Pa.; Jerrel Heatwole, Greenwood, Del.; and David Crowl,   Street, Md.
  • Southeast Area — James “Mickey” Childers, Somerville, Ala.; Mike Ferguson, Senatobia, Miss.; Glen Easter,   Laurens, S.C.; Gordon McCool, Gilmer, Texas; Randy Mooney, Rogersville, Mo.; and Lloyd Phillips, Radford, Va.
  • Southwest Area — Charles Beckendorf, Tomball, Texas; Larry Hancock, Muleshoe, Texas; and Wayne Palla, Clovis, N.M. 
  • Western Area — George Mertens, Sonoma, Calif.; and Fred Schakel, Tipton, Calif.

DFA’s Board also elected its 2007 slate of officers. Tom Camerlo, a dairy farmer from Florence, Colo., was re-elected to serve another one-year term as DFA’s chairman of the Board. Camerlo has served as DFA’s chairman since March of 2003.

Other directors, who will serve one-year terms as DFA officers, include: Randy Mooney, Rogersville, Mo., first vice chairman, will chair the Executive Committee; Tom Croner, Berlin, Pa., secretary/treasurer, will chair the Finance and Budget Committee; Steve Hofman, Ripon, Calif., vice chairman, will chair the Fluid Marketing and Public Policy Committee; Bill Siebenborn, Trenton, Mo., vice chairman, will chair the Value-Added Committee; Wayne Palla, Clovis, N.M., vice chairman, will chair the Audit Committee; Jerrel Heatwole, Greenwood, Del., vice chairman, will chair the Government, Member and Public Relations Committee.

Dairy Farmers of America