Holstein Association USA is excited to honor ten breeders who have qualified for the 2010 Herd of Excellence recognition.

These herds have all met the stringent criteria to qualify for the award: Must be 25 percent above breed average Mature Equivalent (ME) for milk, fat, and protein; must have classified within the last year and have an actual average classification score of 83 points or higher; must have at least 70 percent of the herd homebred; and must be enrolled in the Association’s TriStar program.

The 2010 honorees are:

*Joseph Brantmeier, Hilrose Holsteins, Sherwood, Wis.
*Charles Duncan, Duncan Farm, Warsaw, Ohio
*Allen Dent Johnson, Jafral Holsteins, Hamptonville, N.C.
*Steve & Amanda Killian, Dirt-Road Holsteins, Blair, Wis.
*Randy W. Kortus, Mainstream Holsteins, Lynden, Wash.
*Bruce & Brenda Long, B-Long Holsteins, New London, Wis.
*Lloyd & Denise Pease, Sweet-Peas Holsteins, Susquehanna, Pa.
*Jake & Sallianne Tanis, Ideal Holsteins, Centre Hall, Pa.
*Benjamin & Carolyn Turner, Maplelane-Manor Farm, Apulia Station, N.Y.
*Daniel Vandertie, Doorco Holsteins, Brussels, Wis.

Read profiles of these outstanding herds here.

Source: Holstein Association USA, Inc.