Secretary of Agriculture Secretary Mike Johanns announced the appointment of 10 new members and reappointment of two incumbents to the National Dairy Promotion and Research Board this week. All will serve three- year terms beginning Nov. 1, 2005, through Oct. 31, 2008. "I am pleased these individuals have agreed to serve on this board," Johanns said.

Newly appointed were:

Ronald L. Koetsier, Visalia, Calif., (region 2).

William R. D. Anglin, Bentonville, Ark., (region 4).

Donna L. Sharp, Bath, S.D., (region 5).

Carl F. VanDen Avond, Green Bay, Wis., (region 6).

Bradford A. McCauley, Viola, Wis., (region 6).

Douglas D. Nuttelman, Stromsburg, Neb., (region 7).

Carl A. Schmitz, Wadesville, Ind., (region 9).

Joyce A. Bupp, Seven Valleys, Penn., (region 11).

Ronald R. McCormick, Java Center, N.Y., (region 12).

Debora A. Erb, Landaff, N. H., (region 13).

Reappointed to serve second terms were:

Lester E. Hardesty, Windsor, Colo., (region 3).

Michael M. Ferguson, Senatobia, Miss., (region 8).

The National Dairy Promotion and Research Board, composed of 36 dairy farmers representing 13 regions of the contiguous United States, administers a coordinated program of promotion, research and nutrition education.

The board was established by the Dairy Production Stabilization Act of 1983. It is authorized to design programs to strengthen the dairy industry's position in domestic and foreign markets. The national program is financed by a mandatory 15 cent per hundredweight assessment on milk produced in the contiguous 48 states and marketed commercially by dairy farmers. USDA's Agricultural Marketing Service (AMS) monitors the operation of the board.

AMS encourages all eligible individuals to participate in its committee and board activities. It is USDA's policy that membership on industry governed boards and committees accurately reflect the diversity of individuals served by the programs.