Secretary of Agriculture Mike Johanns has announced the appointment of four incumbents and five new members to the National Fluid Milk Processor Promotion Board.

Re-appointed to serve second terms are:

  • Michael F. Nosewicz, Cincinnati, Ohio (Region 3).
  • William R. McCabe, Orrville, Ohio (Region 6).
  • Paul W. Bikowitz, City of Industry, Calif. (Region 15).
  • Susan D. Meadows, Dallas, Texas (At-Large Processor).

Newly appointed members to the board include:

  • Charles L. Gaither, Jr., Asheville, N.C. (Region 4).
  • Edward R. Mullins, Carlinville, Ill. (Region 9).
  • Patrick R. Beaman, Dallas, Texas (Region 12).
  • Teresa E. Webb, Wallington, N. J. (At-Large Processor).
  • Lisa M. Hillenbrand, Geneva, Switzerland (At-Large Public).

All terms on the board will begin July 1, 2006, and expire June 30, 2009, except for Charles L. Gaither, Jr., and Teresa E. Webb. These two appointees are filling vacant positions with less than 18 months remaining, and their terms will expire June 30, 2007. Charles L. Gaither, Jr. and Teresa E. Webb will be seated at the April 2006 board meeting. All other appointees will be seated at the July 2006 board meeting.

The National Fluid Milk Processor Promotion Board is composed of 15 fluid milk processors from 15 geographic regions and five at-large members. At least three at-large members must be fluid milk processors and at least one must be from the general public. The Board was established by the Fluid Milk Promotion Act of 1990 to develop and administer a coordinated program of advertising and promotion to increase the demand for fluid milk products.

The National Fluid Milk Program is financed by a mandatory 20-cent per hundredweight assessment on all fluid milk processed and marketed commercially in consumer-type packages in the contiguous 48 states and the District of Columbia. Processors who commercially process and market 3,000,000 pounds or less per month, excluding those fluid milk products delivered to the residence of a consumer, are exempt from assessments.

The U.S. Department of Agriculture's Agricultural Marketing Service monitors the operations of the Board. It is USDA's policy that membership on industry-governed boards and committees accurately reflect the diversity of individuals served by the program.