The National Dairy Shrine has named its 2009 scholarship and award winners who will be honored at the organization’s annual banquet on Oct. 1, in Madison, Wis.

Following is a list of awards and winners:

  • Dr. William E. (“Bill”) Sandine, professor emeritus of microbiology at Oregon State University and a pioneering developer of applied manufacturing methods for cultured dairy products, has been named the 2009 National Dairy Shrine Guest of Honor. 
  • Duane W. Conant of Conant Acres, Canton, Maine, is the 2009 Distinguished Dairy Cattle Breeder.
  • The 2009 Industry Pioneers include: Ernest Berousek, Truman Graf, Philip Higley and Harry Roth.
  • For the past decade, the National Dairy Shrine has recognized young dairy producers ages 21 to 45 for their outstanding dairy farming practices. Each recipient receives a $2,000 educational travel award to use out-of-state to observe a dairy activity. This year’s winners are Brian and Heidi Lantzky of Hawkeye, Iowa, in the 300-cow-and-under division and Richard and Jennifer Avila of Dalhart, Texas, in the 300-cow-and-over division.
  • The National Dairy Shrine Graduate Dairy Production Award is a new honor. Nathan Osborn of Genoa, N.Y. is he recipient of this year’s award and cash award of $2,500.
  • Ariel Garland from Northfield, Mass., is the recipient of the Iager Dairy Scholarship this year. The Iager Scholarship for $1,000 is awarded annually to a second-year student in a two-year agricultural school to pursue a career in the dairy industry.
  • Each year, two scholarships are awarded in memory of Professor Marshall E. McCullough, a nutrition researcher and educator from Georgia. Eligible students must be entering their freshmen year of college and plan to major in dairy/animal science or agricultural journalism with a dairy emphasis. The 2009 winners are Angela Boesche of DeKalb, Ill., and Kyle Schirm from West Salem, Ohio.
  • Danielle Brown of Dodgeville, Wis., has won the Maurice Core Scholarship. The $1,000 scholarship is given to a freshman status student working toward a degree in dairy or animal science.
  • Receiving the Kildee Graduate Studies Scholarship is Lora Wittenberg of Ft. Collins, Colo. Jessica Achen of Sauk Centre, Minn., has been selected as the 2009 recipient of the Kildee Undergraduate Studies Scholarship.
  •  Nine college students from across the country have been recognized by the National Dairy Shrine for their excellence in leadership skills, involvement in activities, academic accomplishments, and interest in the dairy industry. The student recognition award honors graduating college seniors as they begin their careers or further their education in the dairy industry. This year’s first place winner is Jennifer Rassler of Kempton, Pa. Rassler will receive a $1,500 scholarship at the NDS awards banquet during the 2009 World Dairy Expo in Madison, Wis. Receiving second place honors and a $1,000 scholarship is Aaron Horst of Chambersburg, Pa. Seven additional students have been named award winners receiving $500; they include: Andrew Birch, Derby, Vt.; Katherine, Boesche, DeKalb, Ill.; Clint Harre, Nashville, Ill.; Julia Hudyncia, Fort Plain, N.Y.; Ashley Messing, Bad Axe, Mich.; David Wilson, Port Royal, Pa.; Clayton Wood, Littlestown, Pa.
  • Londa Johnson, LaCrescent, Minn., has been awarded the 2009 National Dairy Shrine/DMI Milk Marketing $1,500 Scholarship. Additionally, six other undergraduate students have been awarded $1,000 scholarships. The winners are: Jessica Achen, Sauk Centre, Minn., Stephanie Beeman, Carlisle, Pa., Skylar Ryll, Royalston, Mass., Charlie Schiller, Freeport, Minn., Brandon Thesing, Winona, Minn., Abby Udermann, Sartell, Minn., is an animal science (dairy production emphasis) major at the University of Minnesota.
  • Robb Bender of Cleveland, Wis., and Maureen Lee of Johnson Creek, Wis., have been named the 2009 Dairy Shrine-Klussendorf Association Scholarship Award winners and Matthew Mitchell of LaFollette, Tenn., has been named the first Whitey McKown Scholarship winner. These $1,500 scholarships are awarded annually to students who have successfully completed at least one year at a two-year or four-year college or postsecondary program.

Click here for more about each of the awards, winners and the National Dairy Shrine.

Source: National Dairy Shrine