Nominees sought for National Dairy Board

 Resize text         Printer-friendly version of this article Printer-friendly version of this article

The U.S. Department of Agriculture is asking dairy producer and farm organizations to nominate candidates to serve on the National Dairy Promotion and Research Board. Nominations must be submitted by May 31.

The secretary of agriculture will appoint 12 individuals from those nominated to succeed members whose terms expire Oct. 31, 2002. The 12 new members will each serve 3-year terms beginning Nov. 1, 2002.

Appointments will be made from nominations for the following:

  • Region 2 (California).
  • Region 3 (Arizona, Colorado, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, Utah, and Wyoming).
  • Region 4 (Arkansas, Kansas, New Mexico, Oklahoma, and Texas).
  • Region 5 (Minnesota, North Dakota, and South Dakota).
  • Region 6 (Wisconsin).
  • Region 7 (Illinois, Iowa, Missouri, and Nebraska).
  • Region 8 (Alabama, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, and Tennessee).
  • Region 9 (Indiana, Michigan, Ohio, and West Virginia).
  • Region 11 (Delaware, Maryland, New Jersey, and Pennsylvania).
  • Region 12 (New York).
  • Region 13 (Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont).

The National Dairy Promotion and Research Board was established under the Dairy Production Stabilization Act of 1983 to develop and administer a coordinated program of promotion, research, and nutrition education. The 36-member board is authorized to design programs to strengthen the dairy industry's position in domestic and foreign markets. The national program is financed by a mandatory 15-cent per hundredweight assessment on all milk marketed commercially by dairy producers in the contiguous 48 states.

For nominating forms and procedures, contact: David R. Jamison, Chief, Promotion and Research Branch, Dairy Programs, AMS, USDA, Room 2958-S, Stop 0233, 1400 Independence Ave., SW, Washington, D.C. 20250-0233. You also can call (202) 720-6909, or send e-mail to:

Agricultural Marketing Service

Comments (0) Leave a comment 

e-Mail (required)


characters left

AG10 Series Silage Defacers

Loosen silage while maintaining a smooth, compacted bunker space resulting in better feed and less waste. This unique tool pierces, ... Read More

View all Products in this segment

View All Buyers Guides

Feedback Form
Leads to Insight